Cart 0

Headline Books Heads to New Orleans for ALA and Indie Book Awards

Indie Book Awards and American Library Association Meet in New Orleans

Headline Books Inc.·Thursday, June 14, 2018

Terra Alta WV – Independent authors and publishers will be celebrated in New Orleans, June 22, at the Hotel Monteleone by the Canada-based Next Generation Indie Book Awards, the largest not-for-profit book awards program for indie authors and independent publishers.

Many of the Winners and Finalists will be featured authors in Headline Books booth at the American Library Association (ALA) Conference Friday, June 22 through Monday, June 25 at the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center in New Orleans, LA.

Headline Books (Terra Alta WV), 2017 Independent Publisher of the Year, will be attending ALA for the first time and will feature 24 award winning authors in their booth during the four day event. “Authors from around the world will gather for the award reception and then come to ALA to meet librarians and educators,” said Headline Books President and 2018 Co-Chair of the Indie Book Awards, Cathy Teets. “We are happy to be in New Orleans for this special event and anticipate a wonderful show for these talented authors.”

Featured Headline award-winning authors include Kathleen M. Jacobs, author of Please Close It!, Millie Snyder, author of the bestselling cookbook series Lean & Luscious, Melanie Burgess, author of Stinky Owl, Rachelle Wilfong, Growing Up With Lilly Roo, Karl Stewart Up Harvey’s Creek, Lynn Salsi – Hurricane: Jamar’s Story, Zahra Omar Shansab – The Shoeshine of Kabul, Diana Hart – Cauliflower Heart Series, Kim Wilson – Ollie the Owllama.

Indie Book Award Winners hosted by Headline Books at ALA include: Dorota Nigro,  Not Just A Number; Jonathan Givens, Dance Across the U.S.A.; B. Lynn Goodwin, Never Too Late: From Wannabe to Wife at 62; K. Riva Levinson, Choosing the Hero: My Improbable Journey and the Rise of Africa’s First Woman President;  Capt. Jim Kosmo, Monsters in the Hallway; Bill Hellman, Fly Girl; E.M. Markoff, To Nurture & Kill; Rebecca Loomis, A Whitewashed Tomb; Herb Bentz, Rationing Earth: Economic Strategy by Design;  Benny Turner, Survivor – The Benny Turner Story; Jane Suen, Flowers in December (2nd book is Children of the Future); Diana  Forbes,  Mistress Suffragette; Judy Fort Brenneman, Electric Lemons: Interpretation and the Art of Writing; Deb Brandon, But My Brain Had Other Ideas: A Memoir of Recovery from Brain Injury; Jeanie Kortum, Stones: A Novel.

In its twelfth year of operation, the Next Generation Indie Book Awards was established to recognize and honor the most exceptional independently published books in over 70 different categories for the year, and is presented by Independent Book Publishing Professionals Group in cooperation with Marilyn Allen of Allen O’Shea Literary Agency.

Usually held in New York City during Book Expo America, this is the first year the Indie Book Award reception is to be held in conjunction with ALA, the American Library Association Conference. Founder and co-chair of the Indie Book Awards, Catherine Goulet, said, “We are excited to be in New Orleans and look forward to meeting our award winners this year. We have winners coming from around the globe including Ireland, Canada, and the United States.”

ALA will be featuring many notables including Michelle Obama, Sally Field, and Viola Davis.

For more information visit

For media and interviews contact Ashley Teets,, 304-290-7906