Devil’s Backbone

Southern California Book Festival Honorable Mention-Best Fiction


Southern California Book Festival Honorable Mention-Best Fiction

Author Karl Stewart spins another good yarn in his latest book, Devil’s Backbone, the second novel in Stewart’s Legend of See Bird series.

In real life, Stewart’s grandfather was a successful rodeo cowboy known as “Red” Carpenter. Red was a Native American, a Choctaw Indian whose real name was “See Bird.”

In the first novel of the series, The Last Long Drive, Stewart introduces See Bird–the Choctaw cowboy who rode into an adventure on the last long cattle drive before the railroads made such trail drives unnecessary.

In this new novel, See Bird is a friend of “Devil Anse” Hatfield who draws See Bird into the infamous feud between the Hatfields and the McCoys. Stewart presents believable people, set against the backdrop of actual history and uses historical fact to create realistic drama.

The story is set in West Virginia, where the author was raised, so his expressive language, authentic mountain dialect and convincing sense of place come from the experience of someone who has actually lived there.

— John M. Silah, President of the Fond du Lac Area Writers, movie critic and playwright

Year Published



Karl L. Stewart




6 x 9

Other Details

Trade Paperback




There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Devil’s Backbone”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

About the Author

Award winning author, KARL STEWART, was raised in the hills of post-WWII West Virginia, and moved to Wisconsin in his teen years, attending a Catholic seminary. Upon leaving the seminary, he enlisted in the U.S. Army in 1966, serving as a communications sergeant in the elite Green Beret... Read More