The Legend of See Bird: The Last Long Drive

Great Western set in the 1800s and really does have cowboys and Indians. Well written adventure plus romance.


It’s the final cattle drive for Bar L Ranch manager “Big Jim McCarty, but a first for Choctaw Indian-turned-cowboy See Bird Carpenter. And what a drive it turns out to be. As he rides the round-up from Texas to Kansas, See Bird gains a profound understanding of the lesson his father taught him: “A man makes his own life and generally gets what he believes he deserves.”

Along the way, See Bird takes novice cowboy Luke under his wing, never suspecting that before the pair are able to return to the Bar L, See Bird will attempt to save his young charge’s life.

Barely older than the teenage Luke, See Bird possesses gifts that belie his youth and inexperience. He needs every one of them as he battles cattle rustlers unafraid to use their guns to steal some of the 3,100 cattle “Big Jim” expects See Bird, Luke and other Bar L ranch hands to protect.

“Keep your eyes open and your Winchester loaded,” ranch foreman Slocum warns See Bird.

Those words gain currency as See Bird trades shots with the rustlers, tries to head off a stampede that threatens the entire herd and tosses his weapons aside as his life hangs in the balance.

Along the way, he faces his biggest challenge: Does he spend the rest of his life with the woman he loves, Mattie O’Meara, or continue to answer the call of a wild west that shows no mercy but continually offers a “reckless ecstasy?”

See Bird makes his choice, but not before heeding the very advice he earlier imparts to Luke during the dangerous cattle drive: “Red or white don’t matter much. It’s right or wrong that counts.”

Year Published



Karl L. Stewart






5.5 x 8.5



About the Author

Award winning author, KARL STEWART, was raised in the hills of post-WWII West Virginia, and moved to Wisconsin in his teen years, attending a Catholic seminary. Upon leaving the seminary, he enlisted in the U.S. Army in 1966, serving as a communications sergeant in the elite Green Beret Special Forces until 1969. He enrolled in the University of Wisconsin, earning a double-major degree in political science and history. In 2005 Stewart retired from teaching high school Social Studies and English to devote himself to his two passions, family and writing.

He is the author of the award-winning Legend of See Bird series, loosely based on the life of Stewart’s great-grandfather, See Bird Carpenter, a Choctaw Indian. The Green Light continues the life of Stuart Carter (based on Stewart’s father) from WWII (The Seventh Cruise) to Vietnam. Up Harvey’s Creek and Fare Thee Well Harvey’s Creek is a spin off based on the author’s life, living with a parent with PTSD. He is also the author of Good Night Sweet Dreams, an award-winning children’s book.

He and his wife live in rural Wisconsin on a pine-lined ridge with a stunning view to the south, echoing his West Virginia childhood playgrounds.



Zoom Into Books PresentationsAvailable Soon on Zoom Into Books YouTube Channel

Good Night Sweet Dreams, a children’s book

The Seventh Cruise – Based on stories told to the author by his father, vivid recounting of war, heartaches, and victories for a West Virginian in the US Navy.

Up Harvey’s Creek  – Something is terribly wrong with Junior Carter’s father. Stu, a veteran of four years of naval combat in WWII, has become increasingly erratic and violent, threatening the stability of the family. Eleven year-old Junior concludes it is his task to find and fix whatever has gone wrong. Discussion of PTSD

Fare Thee Well, Harvey’s Creek – The touching conclusion to the poignant tale of a young boy’s sense of loss, grief and ultimate healing.

The Legend of Seebird: The Last Long Drive – based on the author’s grandfather, Seebird, set in the 1800s and really does have cowboys and Indians. – Watch on Zoom Into Books YouTube Channel HERE

The Legend of See Bird: Devil’s Backbone. Second in the See Bird Western series dealing with the Hatfield-McCoy family feud. Background and reading –  Watch HERE

The Legend of See Bird: Kiamichi. The final novel in the ‘See Bird’ Western trilogy. Background and reading